Department of Social Science

The department of Social Science is based on the merger of two academic departments since 1st of August 2017. The department offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees that aim at enhancing students’ practical and theoretical skills, prepare them for various sectors in the international job market and provide students with essential skills of partaking in public debate on politics, law and economics. Furthermore, its undergraduate degrees are a good preparation for further studies on postgraduate levels.

The Bifröst learning module is very hands-on, where students practice their skills through project-based learning, particularly with the yearly term-projects (in the undergraduate studies), where students collaborate in groups on a real time project (practical and / or a research project) (see further information about Bifröst University’s Teaching Policy here.

The degrees are mainly taught in Icelandic. The academic year starts in the end of August. Following academic programmes are offered at the Department of Social Science:

Undergraduate programmes

  • BA in Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)
  • BA in Media and Public Relations
  • BA in Public Administration
  • BA in Creative Industries
  • Diploma in Public Administration
  • Diploma in Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)

Postgraduate programmes

  • MA / MCM in Cultural Management
  • MA / MCM in Crisis Management
  • Diplóma in Crisis Management